Tour the rugged coastline of County Mayo, and see the many Abbeys and ancient places of pilgrimage from Medieval times, Iron Age settlements, and some of the earliest Bronze Age settlements on earth, predating the pyramids of Egypt. Mysterious, romantic, and beautiful, let us show you the secrets of County Mayo!
The Céide Fields are the oldest known field systems in the world, over five and a half millenia old. It is a unique Neolithic landscape of world importance, which has changed our perception of our Stone Age ancestors. The remains of stone field walls, houses and megalithic tombs are preserved beneath a blanket of peat over several square miles.
Moyne Abbey was founded by permission of Pope Nicholas for the Observantine Franciscans in 1460. The founder may have been McWilliams Bourke or one of the Barrett family. The Church consists of a rectangular nave and chancel with an eastward extension of the nave which is wider than it.
To the south of Rosserk Abbey nestled in a secluded valley lies a little chapel covering a sacred well. It was built in 1798 by John Lynott of Rosserk in honour of the blessed virgin. A cross sits neatly on top of this little place along with a whitethorn tree growing happily from the roof. Its been growing there since the beginning of the century according to eyewitness accounts.
This is an Abbey of the third order of Franciscans. It was founded in 1400 by a Norman called Joyce. It is the best preserved Franciscan Abbey in Ireland. Rosserk Abbey is situated on the west bank of the River Moy approximately 4 kilometres from Killala town.
Downpatrick head has some of the most astounding scenery in Ireland. Recent scholarly research supports the theory long held in Mayo that St. Patrick was not enslaved on a mountain in Antrim but was instead a captive in Mayo, quite close to Downpatrick Head, the place from whence he is reputed to have set sail for France after running away.
Killala Round Tower
This is a well-preserved Round Tower. The tower was struck by lightning in the last century, but it was repaired around 1840 by Bishop Verschoyle. The original monastic foundation here probably goes back to the 5th century when St. Patrick appointed Muiredach as first bishop of Killala.